Look at the Cute Dog Sunbathing:

Five Things WordPress Taught Me with the Zero to Hero Project

photo (64)

The Zero to Hero project officially ended a couple of weeks ago, but I’m just now getting around to my own official wrap up.

P.S. Scroll to the bottom for the 5 things if you don’t have time for a little reading. And if you don’t actually make it that far, it’s a good project, and I really did learn a lot.

OK, let’s just make this unofficial because I’m not going to go back and figure out how many followers I added. No, wait, I just checked. I have 29 followers now, and I probably didn’t have any (or maybe just 1 or 2) before the beginning of January. So, welcome!

My most responded to post was one that was actually like, you know, a post, and not just yakking on about zero to hero. That was this one, that was in response to the Daily Prompt. It generated a ton (for me) of pingbacks and even some comments. Who doesn’t love comments?! OK, honestly, I don’t really understand pingbacks. Well, I do in theory, but like a lot of the internet in general, and blogging specifically, it’s just magic.

I’ve been blogging for a few years now, just not on WordPress, so some of the stuff I already knew… like commenting on other blogs and following them helps get you noticed. I’ll try to do more of that because, as I already noted, who doesn’t love comments!

Some of the stuff confused me, and may always confuse me, but I’ll give it a go. Like this formatting thing. Even today, the Daily Post is telling us to add variety with these post formats. I’m sure I’ll discover that perhaps even I can figure out this format magic. And pingbacks. Don’t know why they are so confusing, but they seem to make one popular, so I’m all for that.

But enough of all that. What about those 5 Things?

  1. Add more pages and widgets. And Format! Format!
  2. Comment and Follow. Comment and Follow.
  3. Participate. Try Blogging Events.
  4. And do more Daily Prompts. People like those.
  5. Post cute dog pictures.

OK, not sure that WordPress taught me that last one, but didn’t you click on this post because you saw a cute dog?

Leave a Reply

