Apparently, It Doesn’t Really Take That Much Snow To Get Atlanta International Headlines

IMG_0126

Wow! Sometimes life really does get in the way, and it’s not just an excuse. Between the full-time job and #snowjam2014 (just one of the many names they’ve given to the debacle that just recently happened in Atlanta), I’ve had things to do. You know, I had good intentions for blogging on my days off.

Yep, I had Tuesday and yesterday off, and was going to blog, make some art, chill out and relax. And Mother Nature had other ideas. After running a couple of errands on Tuesday and finding myself warm and toasty at home around 1, doing a little painting, and then checking in with my boss. I was shocked to learn how close she was to my house. The store where we work is only 3 miles from my house, and it had taken her (ultimately) 5-1/2 HOURS to get just past my house.

Finally, she was convinced to abandon her car on the icy hill where she was stuck and walk back to my house. Her sister (who was also stuck on the same road) made her way to my house, and then we rescued another co-worker who posted on facebook that she was stuck in a hotel lobby, just a mile from us. I took that picture the next day… cars that didn’t fare so well on the icy hill.

My 3 friends were reunited with their vehicles, and, finally, their homes and clean clothes today. I’m so grateful that I was able to help them out, and also feel like Atlantans are some of the friendliest, helpful people in the country!

Here’s to everyone who helped out! And to the politicians passing around the blame… well, it is an election year.

 

Leave a Reply

